Sherry Rehman Elected Chair of Senate Committee on Climate Change

Islamabad, Senator Sherry Rehman has been unanimously elected as the Chair of the Senate Standing Committee on Climate Change. The election took place during a recent meeting, with her nomination initiated by Senator Qurratulain Marri and supported by Senator Agha Shahzaib Durrani.

According to Pakistan Peoples Party, in her acceptance speech, Senator Rehman thanked her colleagues for their trust and highlighted her commitment to advancing Pakistan’s climate change agenda. She stressed the importance of effective climate policy implementation and the need for collective action to protect the environment for future generations.

As chair, Senator Rehman plans to prioritize raising awareness about climate issues, particularly emphasizing Pakistan’s vulnerable position in the face of global climate challenges. The meeting saw attendance from key Senate members, including Senators Taj Haider, Syed Shibli Faraz, Bushra Anjum Butt, and Shahzaib Durrani, signifying broad support for Senator Rehman’s leadership on this critical issue.