Oman, UAE Maintain Winning Streak; Bahrain Gets First Win in T20 Asia Final

Kirtipur, On the second day of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final Asia, Oman, powered by Aqib Ilyas’s dazzling 63, clinched their second win against Singapore. Bahrain registered their first win against Hong Kong, China, ensuring their World Cup dreams remain in sight. Meanwhile, hosts Nepal, cheered on by their home crowd, bested Malaysia, and the UAE claimed a victory over Kuwait.

According to International Cricket Council (ICC), in the morning match at the TU Cricket Ground in Kirtipur, Oman posted 174/6 in 20 overs, with Ilyas’s explosive innings of 63 runs from just 35 balls, studded with 4 fours and 4 sixes. Singapore fought back, ending at 152/8 in their 20 overs. Ilyas, for his commendable performance, was awarded Player of the Match.

Brief Scores:

Oman 174/6 in 20.0 Overs (Aqib Ilyas 63, Janak Prakash 2-22) beat Singapore 152/8 in 20.0 Overs (Surendran Chandramohan 41, Fayyaz Butt 2-21) by 22 runs.

In Mulpani, Bahrain managed to put up 146 on the board with wicketkeeper-batsman Imran Ali scoring 62 from 43 balls. However, Hong Kong, China fell short by 20 runs, being bowled out for 126.

Brief Scores:

Bahrain 146/10 in 19.3 Overs (Imran Ali 62, Nasrulla Rana 3-21) beat Hong Kong, China 126/10 in 19.1 Overs (Anshuman Rath 28, Abdul Majid 3-7) by 20 runs.

In another contest at Kirtipur, Nepal successfully chased down Malaysia’s total of 165, reaching 166/4 in 18 overs. Kushal Malla’s fiery 65 off 34 balls, which included 7 sixes, played a pivotal role in Nepal’s triumph. For this knock, Malla was declared Player of the Match.

Brief Scores:

Nepal 166/4 in 18 Overs (Kusha Malla 65, Muhammad Amir 3-18) beat Malaysia 165/9 in 20 Overs (Syed Aziz 68, Abinash Bohara 4-27) by 6 wickets.

In Mulpani’s afternoon clash, the UAE chased down Kuwait’s modest total of 88 with five wickets to spare. Ali Naseer, having secured 2 wickets for just 14 runs, was recognized as Player of the Match.

Brief Scores:

United Arab Emirates 94/5 in 14.2 Overs (Muhammad Waseem 33, Mohammed Aslam 3-17) beat Kuwait 88/8 in 20 Overs (Ravija Sandaruwan 22, Zahoor Khan 2-13) by 5 wickets.