Fatima Sana Rejoins Pakistan Women’s Squad for New Zealand Tour

Lahore, The Pakistan women’s cricket team welcomes back players Fatima Sana, Omaima Sohail, and Shawaal Zulfiqar for their upcoming tour of New Zealand. The national selection committee, led by Saleem Jaffar, has announced a 17-member squad for the series, which includes three T20Is and three ICC Women’s Championship ODIs in December.

According to Pakistan Cricket Board, the team is set to play T20Is in Dunedin and Queenstown from December 3-9, followed by ODIs in Queenstown and Christchurch from December 12-18. Omaima Sohail returns to the squad after impressive performances in the T20 tri-nation series and bilateral series at home. Shawaal Zulfiqar, the 18-year-old who debuted against South Africa earlier this year, returns after leading the batting charts in the tri-series. Right-arm fast bowler Fatima Sana, who missed the Bangladesh series due to injury, has recovered and is ready to join the team for the six white-ball matches.

The Pakistan squad for the tour includes Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, and others. The player support personnel accompanying the team are Nahida Khan (manager), Mauhtashim Rashid (interim head coach), Saleem Jaffar (bowling coach), and more. The team will assemble in Karachi on November 18 for a four-day camp before departing for New Zealand.

Chief Selector Saleem Jaffar emphasized the strategic changes made for the New Zealand tour, particularly in the batting and fast bowling departments, to address challenges faced in Bangladesh. He expressed confidence in the returning players’ abilities to strengthen the team in the New Zealand conditions. The series schedule includes three T20Is and three ODIs, with matches taking place in Dunedin, Queenstown, and Christchurch.