ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 Europe Qualifier ready to get underway in Spain

Dubai, September 01, 2023 (PPI-OT): The journey to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 in Bangladesh continues as Spain opens her doors to host the Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier from 6 to 12 September.

France, Italy, Netherlands and Scotland will battle it out in a double round-robin format, over six days to earn a place in the Global Qualifier that will give teams a place in the main event.

France demonstrated their quick progression over the last two years by taking top spot in the ICC women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier Division 2 earlier this summer.

Italy impressed in their first-ever ICC pathway event by taking the second qualification spot for the Spain Qualifier.

Netherlands prepared for this event by competing in bi-lateral and triangular T20I series against Scotland, Thailand, Ireland and Jersey over the last two months with several young players making their international debut ahead of the Spain event.

Scotland also competed in the T20I triangular in the Netherlands and benefitted from a large number of players obtaining professional playing contracts in England and Wales.

This event promises to be a competitive affair, with the four teams putting in some strong performances in the lead-up.

Andrew Wright, ICC Regional Development Manager – Europe said: “There’s a great deal of momentum in women’s cricket across Europe just now which is testament to the hard work of all our members.

“This tournament will see the two Europe Division 2 qualifiers (Italy and France) compete against the two automatic qualifiers from the previous cycle (Scotland and the Netherlands).

“It’s been wonderful to see the size of the pathway increase this year with eight teams involved, necessitating a Division 1 and a Division 2 event with Italy, Jersey, Turkey and Sweden making their debuts in Jersey back in May.

“It’s a real exciting time for the Women’s game.”

John Howden, CEO of Cricket España said: “Cricket España is delighted to have the opportunity to host the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier in Spain.

“Several of the Spanish women’s national team have agreed to be volunteers at this tournament, and we hope they will learn a lot and share their experiences from this prestigious event with their peers.

“Cricket España is working diligently to promote female cricket and aspire to play themselves, in future ICC Women’s pathway events, in the not-too-distant future.

“With the International Cricket Council recently announcing equal prize money for men’s and women’s events, there is no better time to be investing in the growth of the women’s game. Cricket España will continue to do that and offer parity with the men’s game here in Spain at every available opportunity.”

Monica Visser, CEO of Koninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond (KNCB) said: “Our national women’s team have made a big stride in the last couple years.

“In term of fixtures, 2023 has been the busiest summer for them. We have hosted Thailand, Scotland, Ireland and Jersey for ODI and T20I series this summer. Furthermore, all the national players have been part of the inaugural Dutch Women’s Super League, where three regional women’s teams have competed in a competitive T10 and T20 competition.

“Special thanks for our sponsors for creating more opportunities on and off the field for our national women’s players.

“I wish all participants good luck but most of all, a lot of pleasure to show the best of themselves and the team in the good spirit of the game.”

Participating squads

France: Marie Violleau, Ines McKeon, Amy Seddon, Tara Britton, Prabhashi Mahawattage, Anika Bester, Pooja Ganesh, Emma Patel, Blandine Verdon, Magali Marchello, Dorothea Graham, Maëlle Cargouet, Poppy McGeown, Lydie Templeman.

Italy: Kumudu Peddrick, Emilia Bartram, Sharon Withanage, Methnara Mudiyanselage, Dilaisha Mahaguruge, Chathurika Fernando, Pasindi Kanankege, Sadalee Liyanage, Gayathri Mudiyanselage, Suddahazai Khan, Sonia Toffoletto, Nimesha Asuramanage, Serena Thamel, Dishani Samarawickrama.

Netherlands: Heather Siegers, Isabel van der Woning, Robine Rijke, Eva Lynch, Iris Zwilling, Sterre Kalis, Babette de Leede, Caroline de Lange, Myrthe van den Raad, Hannah Landheer, Phebe Molkenboer, Merel Dekeling, Carlijn van Koolwijk, Mikkie Zwilling.

Scotland: Kathryn Bryce, Sarah Bryce, Abtaha Maqsood, Chloe Abel, Ailsa Lister, Darcey Carter, Lorna Jack, Ellen Watson, Hannah Rainey, Priyanaz Chatterji, Megan McColl, Niamh Roberston-Jack, Maryam Faisal, Nayma Sheikh.

For more information, contact:


International Cricket Council (ICC)

Street 69, Dubai Sports City,

Sh Mohammed Bin Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE

Phone: +97-143828800

Fax: +97-143828600